Up & Coming Designer Profile: Briana Jacobs

30 Jun
DSC_6413.jpg

Photography: Ian McNeil- Hair, Make-up, Styling: Briana Jacobs

Briana Jacobs is currently a student at The Art Institute of Portland, studying Fashion Design. Krystle recently interviewed Briana to find out what drives her passion for the fashion industry. Keep reading to learn more about this young, gifted designer and to view some of her designs. We expect to see more of Briana in the future of fashion!

StylePoint: What ultimately helped you make the decision to pursue a career in fashion?

Briana: Fashion and style have always been something I have had a connection with. I have a strong passion for creating and expressing myself artistically. I can’t really remember when I decided I wanted my future to be in fashion, it’s like I’ve always known it’s going to be apart of my life and career.

Two projects that really gave me confidence in pursuing an education and career in fashion design was the prom dress I made for my jr. year prom in 2008 and the dress I made that won the Passion for Fashion scholarship at The Art Institute of Portland in 2009.

StylePoint: What is the best thing about fashion design and going to school at The Art Institute?

Briana: What I love about studying fashion design at The Art Institute of Portland is that I am always being challenged! My teachers really push me to the best of my ability. It keeps me very motivated and focused on my dreams of becoming a designer.

StylePoint: What is/are the biggest challenge(s) in fashion design?

Briana: Time management. Being a successful fashion designer takes up almost all of your time. Being a student studying fashion design and juggling a part time job is very difficult. I spend a lot of late nights and 12-15 hour days at school sewing and trying to finish up all my projects on time. Even though it can be very stressful I still enjoy every minute of it, and stay very dedicated to the time commitment.

StylePoint: To date, what do you feel is your biggest accomplishment in fashion so far?

Briana: My school work.

StylePoint: Where does your inspiration come from?

Briana: So many things inspire me!

  • Current and historical subcultures
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Sci-fi and Fantasy
  • Upcoming Fashion Trends

StylePoint: Where do you see yourself in five years?

Briana: Living in California either working for a large corporation or designing for my own private boutique.

StylePoint: What trends do you see for Summer 2011?

Briana:

  • 70’s Glamour
  • Stripes
  • Maxi dresses
  • Bell bottoms
  • Exotic animal prints
  • Pleats
  • High waist shorts
  • Cut outs
  • Retro looks

StylePoint: Where do you see Portland fashion in the next five years?

Briana: The same as it is now.

StylePoint: Who are some of your favorite designers?

Briana: Versace, Dolce and Gabbana, Chanel, Marc Jacobs, Stella McCartney, Burberry

 Here are some of Briana’s recent designs:

77560_1527163106268_1450380249_31222613_4160126_o.jpg

131816_1536599862181_1450380249_31238012_7052035_o.jpg

134358_1534386286843_1450380249_31234327_6316254_o.jpg

256988_1824576061406_1450380249_31664780_7240536_o.jpg

Sketch.tif

 Thank you, Briana, for giving some of your time to us here at

StylePoint Portland!

~Posted by Krystle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

